Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Fondren Library

Sections

Kinesiology

A guide to Kinesiology resources at Fondren Library.

Fondren logo large



Kinesiology (Includes: Sports Medicine, Sports Management, HealthSciences)

This selection of specialized resources in Kinesiology is designed to help you navigate through the wealth of information in Fondren's collections. It is not a comprehensive list.



Finding Articles

Use indexes to find references to research articles and to other materials such as books, book chapters, dissertations, etc. In some cases, links to the full text are provided. When links are not available, use the E-Journal Portal to find access points for journals in electronic format. Some subscriptions are in paper format only; check Webcat to search for journals not found online. For indexes in other subject areas, see Fondren's list of Indexes and Databases.


Online Indexes

Academic Search Completeon proxy (courtesy of texshare logoTexshare) | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.

Provides full text for more than 5,000 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. (1886-)

Business Source Complete on proxy (courtesy of texshare logoTexshare) | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Provides full text to scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. (1886-)

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) (via CSA)on proxy| includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Contains over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics. The sources it indexes include journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. (Alternate interface languages include: French, Spanish, Chinese, Japanese and Korean). (1966- updated monthly)

ERIC (via EBSCOhost) on proxy (courtesy of texshare logoTexshare) | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Contains over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics. The sources it indexes include journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. (1966- updated monthly )

Health & Wellness Resource Center on proxy (courtesy of texshare logoTexshare) | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. Provides up-to-date reference material as well as full-text periodicals and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. Additionally, consumers, students, and professionals are provided with descriptions of and links to several pertinent websites, selected for their usefulness and appropriateness.

Health Reference Center Academic on proxy (courtesy of texshare logoTexshare) | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Finds articles on such subjects as fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public Health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. (1996- )

MEDLINE (via Web of Knowledge) on proxy | includes Full Text
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses (MeSH) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals (1985- updated monthly)

Physical Education Index (via CSA)on proxy| includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Indexes the scholarly and trade literature in physical education. Areas of coverage range from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered. (Alternate interface languages include: French, Spanish, Chinese, Japanese and Korean). (1970-)

PsycINFO (via CSA)on proxy| includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to over 1300 journals, and dissertations in more than 30 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references are added annually. Popular literature is excluded. (1806- )

PubMed unrestricted| includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources including the PubMed Central digital archive. It's a free database provided by the National Library of Medicine.

SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)on proxy| includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Focuses on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. It's mission is to provide a continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.

SPORTDiscus (via EBSCOhost) on proxy (courtesy of texshare logoTexshare) | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Contains information on the following: sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment. (1975- )

Web of Knowledge (Web of Science, MEDLINE, Current Contents)on proxy | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.

Integrates three citation indexes: Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI). SCI and SSCI have searchable author abstracts and each database may be searched by a variety of other accesses including who the author cites. Includes ISIHighlyCited: a directory of over 250 eminent researchers in life sciences, medicine, physical sciences and social sciences. (SCI 1900- )



Finding Books

WebCat
To locate a book in the Rice University Libraries, use this online catalog.

WorldCat
To locate a book that's not in WebCat, use this combined online catalog for over 15,000 libraries worldwide.

Other Libraries' Catalogs
To locate a book at some other local or national library, use this link.
Interlibrary Loan
To request a book from some other library, fill out the form on the library's Document Delivery website. This free service is available to only Rice students, faculty, and staff.



Finding Data

Databases, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks

Britannica Online on proxy
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. Also includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.

Encyclopedia of Sports Science
GV558 .E53 1999 - Reference Collection
Provides basic information on all sports such as physiological adaptations, strength training, body mechanics, special gear and equipment, and other factors that should be considered when performing a particular sport.

Learning to Teach Physical Education in the Secondary School: A Companion to School Experience  on proxy

National Standards for Athletic Coaches [pdf] unrestricted

Personal Trainer Manual: The Resource for Fitness Professionals on proxy
Represents the most current, complete picture of the knowledge, instructional techniques and professional responsibilities personal trainers need to provide safe and effective exercise instruction to their clients. It is also designed to serve as a self-study aid to the American Council on Exercise's Personal Trainer Certification Examination.

Sports Science Handbook: the essential guide to kinesiology, sport and exercise sciences.
GV558 .J46 2005 - Reference Collection.
Provides clear definitions of the many scientific and technical terms used in kinesiology and sports science. Covers other disciplines that are related to sport sciences such as biochemistry, biomechanics, functional anatomy, epidemiology, kinanthropometry, motor behavior, nutrition, psychology, physiology, and sociology. Also provides references to key books and journal articles.


Dictionaries

Concise Medical Dictionary on proxy
Contains over 11,000 clear and concise entries, covering all aspects of medical science. Includes medical techniques and equipment, drugs, general medical practice, health service organizations, and treatments. Was recently expanded to include medical ethics, clinical governance, emergency medicine, pathology, and diagnosis.

Definitions: Health, Fitness, and Physical Activity on proxy
Draws together definitions of terms commonly used in the field. Over the past 50 years there has been considerable change in the definitions of terms such as physical fitness and even health. New terms have evolved such as wellness and metabolic fitness. Compiled for the President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports Research Digest.

Dictionary of Food Nutrition on proxy
Covers terms one would encounter on food labels, in advertising, and in the media. Also included entries on food groups as diverse as shellfish (abalone, whelks) and condiments (mignonette, salsa), and gives clear explanations of technical terms such as hyperalimentation and Zeocarb.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences on proxy
Covers the disciplines of zoology, botany, evolutionary science, medicine, physiology, human anatomy, cytology, and genetics.

Food and Fitness: A Dictionary of Diet and Exercise on proxy
Enables users to evaluate the claims made about different diets and types of exercise. Covers all matters relating to diet and exercise including diet methods, food supplements, sex and exercise, sports injuries, anatomy, energy-related terms, exercises for improving strength, flexibility, stamina, weight control, training methods and principles, calorie requirements of different activities, and other subjects.

Mirriam-Webster Online on proxy
Includes both a dictionary and online thesaurus feature.

Style Guides

Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format unrestricted
Updated to 5th edition.
Explains how to use APA style when writing a research paper, and gives examples on citing reference sources, compiling a bibliography, etc.

APA Style Guide Crib Sheet unrestricted
Provides a one page summary of rules for using APA style based on the "APA Publication Manual," 5th edition.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
BF76.7 .P83 2001 - Reference Collection

Provides clear guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style.

Pocket Guide to APA Style
BF76.7 .P47 2007 - Reference Desk

Provides explanations, annotated examples, and margin notes to help students write properly documented papers in the latest APA style.


For further assistance, contact Bob Sabin by e-mail at sabin @rice.edu or by phone at 713-348-4324.

Kinesiology guide was compiled with assistance from Sonya Fogg. Updated (4/22/08).



Personal tools